The 2016 Noble County Community Guide is provided by the News-Sun.

HISTORY: Surveyor Harrison Wood platted Cromwell in June 1853 on the site where Abel Mullen had built a cabin in 1849 for manufacturing black salt from ashes. Mullen’s business was unprofitable, but he did become the town’s first postmaster. 

POPULATION: 504, according to the 2013 Census estimate. 

GOVERNMENT: A three-member Town Council meets the third Tuesday of each month at 6pm in the Town Hall. 

TOWN COUNCIL: Shannon Ewell (R), Bob Warren (R), and DeVon Miller (D). The clerk-treasurer is Robert Leamon (R), 856-2108; fax 856-3609. 

SERVICES: Water and sewer services are provided by the town, garbage services are contracted, and a volunteer fire department serves the town. 

EDUCATION: Students of all ages attend West Noble School Corp. schools at the West Noble campus a few miles from Cromwell and in Ligonier. 

RECREATION: Cromwell has a large park, created in 1980, and the former Cromwell School has been turned into a community center, which is in use many days of the year. The park continues to be used by hundreds of residents, families and visitors for sporting events such as baseball and softball games and running contests. 

FESTIVAL: In 1987, the town began celebrating the Cromwell Days Festival, which is held in July. It features parades, talent show, Kiddie King and Queen contest, an auction, antique tractor pulls and many other events. 

ACCESS: S.R. 5 passes through the center of town. 

POLICE: Cromwell Police Department, 856-3838; or 636-2182 (county sheriff) or 911 for emergencies. Michael Hatfield is the Cromwell town marshal. 

FIRE: Sparta Township Volunteer Fire Department, 201 Water St., 856-4555. 

CLERK TREASURER: 856-2108. Hours - Monday through Friday, 9am-5pm.

TOWN ATTORNEY: Steve Hagen. 

LIBRARY: The west branch of the Noble County Public Library is located on Jefferson Street, 856-2119. 

POST OFFICE: 117 N. Jefferson Street, 856-2512. The postmaster is Christina Tevis, postmaster of the Ligonier office. Hours are weekdays 7:30am to noon and 2pm to 3:30pm, and Saturdays 10am to noon. A village post office branch is located in the Town Hall on Water Street. 

TOWN HALL: 200 Water Street, 856-2108. Fax: 856-3609.